ANC retains three municipalities in KZN

Views: 733
CAPE TOWN/SOUTH AFRICA, 12JUN2009 -  Jacob Zuma, Presdent of South Africa, at the Closing Plenary : Africa's Roadmap: From Crisis to Opportunity held during the World Economic Forum on Africa 2009 in Cape Town, South Africa, June 12, 2009

Copyright World Economic Forum / Eric Miller
SITTING PRETTY: President Jacob Zuma's ruling party has retained three municipalities in his home province

Mooi Mpofana, Umgeni and Maphumulo have all been retained by the African National Congress

Durban – The IEC has confirmed the election results for just three municipalities in KwaZulu-Natal, and counting and auditing was expected to continue into the evening on Thursday.

The IEC’s KwaZulu-Natal chairperson, Mawethu Mosery, said that the municipalities of Mooi Mpofana, Umgeni and Maphumulo had been finalised and that seat allocations had already been done.

The three municipalities were all retained by the ANC.

He said that the process of capturing results had started late last night after counting was completed, and that data capturers were working to collate the results before they could be audited.

“Of the results to be captured in that province, we have a total of 13 510 results to be captured in total, and we can confirm that we concluded the capture of 8 978 results and we have less than 5 000 to capture,” he said.

Late on Wednesday night, voting continued in the province long after the cut-off time, after strong winds knocked tents to the ground and thousands of voters joined queues.

Source:news 24